Collections


I love sets of things, I love arrangements & collections.

When I hear a song I love, I have to scurry off as soon as I can to find the album it’s from, find the artist, track down the other tracks. Fall in love again.

When my eyes are magnetised by a piece of art, I race to seek out the artist and soak in everything else they’ve created.

I’ve done this with authors and poets, actors, directors, blogs and my current jam: podcasts. I get hooked. I have to absorb all I can until my attention is hooked someplace else. 

This energy directs me, and now I’ve identified it, I can see how it plays out in all kinds of ways.

I’ve had attachment to all sorts of obsession, with habits and ritual, with a certain style of living or eating or being, with a form of minutiae that maybe only I notice, but it’s place in my days has been critical. For the moment. Then gone.

Sometimes it’s a few days, sometimes a few years, or anywhere in between. The more life I live the more context for this observation and the more patterns I can see.

IMG_7836

Right now I’m channelling this obsessive method into making. I’m filling every moment, pouring every ounce of energy into making, and will do so until the next hook catches me. That maybe tomorrow – maybe next year – I’ll show you when.

It’s manifesting itself right now as a collection of paper and fabric collages, I’m calling the Peacock & Mermaid collection. This is part two. I don’t know if there will be a part three – I might get called away by another muse.

All of the pieces shown here are available in my Etsy shop. The first part of the collection sold out the first day – so hop over quick if you’d like one of them in your home!


Would you like to get sporadic updates on my thoughts and drawings delivered right to your inbox? Hop onto my email list right here.

(and I’ll send you my ebook A Year full of Color as a thank you for joining)

Your email is utterly safe to me. It will be hidden in a secret place, I will feed it tea and biscuits as required. 

3 thoughts on “Collections

  1. Peacocks and mermaids….two of my fave things – and the colors are magnificent. I love your ‘immersive spirit’ when the muse calls! How absolutely delicious to dive into something that speaks to your heart. And, really, why wouldn’t we want it any other way? P.S. I am so much like you – I do the same thing. When I die, I will WILL all my hundreds of art books to you if you promise to do the same. XOXO

    Like

    1. Deal!! What a fabulous idea! I’d love to know they have a good home to go to. Isn’t it funny (maybe not the word, not in the comical sense) but I resisted letting my obsessive nature drive the way for so long. Life is such a puzzle. Making things (like this) is a way of making sense of the puzzle.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. We were separated at birth, I’m sure of it. I recently read one of my millions of art books with a ‘spiritual’ theme and the author made it sound like a ‘bad’ thing that we keep buying books and delaying the creative process. WHAT?! My books, these blogs, everything I experience ARE my creative process. Whether I realize it or not, I’m inspired by it all. How could that EVER be bad? I sometimes have a nightmare that I die suddenly and someone cleans out my home, dumping the books in the trash……then I wake up and think about estate planning!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.